.

Why our city has decreased speed limits across almost all streets?

I feel like our city council is trying to make more money on its citizens by dropping the speed limits by 5 miles on many streets and setting police to catch locals. Can someone explain what was the rational for speed limit decrease on perfectly safe and quiet streets, for example, Amar?
It seems to be either stupidity or money making scheme.

Michael December 09, 2013 at 01:38 AM
You're right, it's a money making scheme. CA law requires they take speed measurements on streets and adjust the speeds. Last spring, I noticed they placed the temp. speed sensors near the intersections vs. mid-block where they are supposed to be. Closer to intersections cars are accelerating and decelerating- not at average speeds, thus lowering them. Don't know if what the City Traffic Engineer did was illegal, or just immoral. When I saw all those speed limits drop, I knew why. I used to work in the Traffic Mgt business- we used to contract this type of work. You'd think the $500 red-light-camera tickets would be enough for our local greedy government, but I guess not.
Joe Estez December 10, 2013 at 12:37 AM
Michael W, Once again you don't have a clue what you are talking about. Several months ago you had no idea how or what a speed survey even was. I educated you then, however it appears you have deleted all your posts from that article. I assume it was just too embarrassing. Below is the link to refresh your memory. http://diamondbar-walnut.patch.com/groups/editors-picks/p/walnut-lowers-speed-limits-on-six-street-segments Now you have done it again, Speed surveys are done according to requirements in the California Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices. Speed surveys are done by people using a radar or lidar gun. The surveys are to be done from a inconspicuously parked, unmarked vehicle. I don't know what "temp. speed sensors" (sic) you speak of. Those might be the devices used to track the number of cars, but not speed. I would think an MBA in traffic management, as you profess to be, would know that. Maybe it is better you are selling toasters and stoves now, because anything to do with traffic was clearly over your head. Again, you are spouting off without worrying about the facts. Now you know even more about speed surveys. Please quit embarrassing yourself.
Melanie C. Johnson (Editor) December 10, 2013 at 02:28 AM
Concerned Citizen - Here is a story from when they lowered the speed limits and why. If you have some concerns, you might contact City Engineer Dave Gilbertson. http://diamondbar-walnut.patch.com/groups/editors-picks/p/walnut-lowers-speed-limits-on-six-street-segments
Concerned Parent December 10, 2013 at 10:18 AM
David Gilbertson seems to know what we, citizens of Walnut need better than us! Having used some obscure survey, he pushed for speed limit decrease. Having driven Amar lately, after the decrease, people still go above 50 m/h, which is more than safe. I had hoped our city had more important things to focus on. Very disappointed.
Walnut Watchdog December 10, 2013 at 11:44 AM
Does that mean that Michael West has lost ANOTHER job and is no longer working at the company that does more business in the evil City of Industry than anywhere else?
joebanana December 10, 2013 at 12:21 PM
What would be nice is a governmental body that actually did something FOR the community, not TO the community. Traffic signals have sensors built into the road for a reason. For the idiots that have no idea how to time the signals properly. Example: Valley and Fairway. The left turn arrow takes forever, even with no cars eastbound on valley Blvd. which goes green before the turn lane. And traffic citations are supposed to be "inconvienient reminders", not reveneu generating means. LA counties "penalty assessment fee" of 170% of the original fine is blatant extortion.
Joe Estez December 10, 2013 at 06:48 PM
Not sure what Michael W is doing now. Heard him on KFI radio rambling about a company he works for in the City of Industry. Selling hot plates and toasters or something. Who knows? Jack of all trades, master of none.
Melanie C. Johnson (Editor) December 10, 2013 at 11:38 PM
Everyone - Keep the debate on the issue and please refrain from personal attacks. Thanks.
John Q. Public December 17, 2013 at 01:56 AM
A few days late but I'm glad I read this. I hadn't noticed. Yes, 45 on Amar, 35 on Lemon and 30 on Mountaineer are ridiculously low, but 35 on Collegewood/Heidelberg is insanely high! There's no excuse for having a 35 MPH speed limit on residential streets that lead to a grade school.
Concerned Parent December 18, 2013 at 11:51 AM
John, my opinion is that the changes are done to spend $15,000 on a friendly outside contractor services and then $$$ on replacing the signs. The Walnut city manager is not controlled by the city council or maybe is in it.
John Q. Public December 19, 2013 at 01:47 AM
If you're saying that reducing the speed limits was done as a sweetheart deal for the sign company, I should hope that both parties could do better than that. $15,000 is barely lunch money in that world. The real problem is that speed limits are based on the speeds people drive, not on the speeds the street was designed for. If people drive more slowly than the street was designed for, they reduce the speed limit. If they drive faster than they really should but don't hit anything (pets not included) they raise the speed limit. Simple as that. Just don't tell anybody to do a survey on Grand or they'll reduce the speed limit to 35. <Grrrr>
Concerned Parent December 22, 2013 at 11:05 AM
John, it is funny. The Lemon, between Amar and Grand section - everyone drives within speed limit there, since it is a known hiding place by our cops. Making Amar slower than 50 is IMHO stupid. Grand is always backed up during rush hours, as you pointed out.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something